Events Archive - 2016

Workshop: Late Antique and Syriac Studies: Some Theoretical and Practical Issues

Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 4:30 pm

The talk aims to reflect on the implications the way we coin the concepts and periodisations of Late Antiquity, Byzantium, Early Islam have on our approach of the history of the Eastern Mediterranean. How do Syriac studies -a field that has been thriving in the last 15 years- fit in the picture and can help us both displace and broaden our understanding of this period and region?

Location: Scheide Caldwell House, Room 203

Lecture: Dina Boero, “Symeon and the Making of a Monk: Stylitism and Monasticism in Late Antique Syria"

Wed, Nov 9, 2016, 4:30 pm

Respondent: Jack Tannous, History

Location: Scheide Caldwell House, Room 103

Welcome Party

Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 6:00 pm
Location: Scheide Caldwell House

Lecture: Noel Lenski, “Roman Refugees: The Settlement of Immigrant Groups inside Roman Territory in the First to Seventh Centuries CE”

Princeton Graduate Student Exchange Meeting

Thu, May 19, 2016, 9:30 am to Fri, May 20, 2016, 5:00 pm

Sixth Annual Workshop of the Graduate Exchange in Late Antique, Byzantine and Early Medieval History Between the University of Vienna, Oxford, Mainz, Freie Universität Berlin and Princeton


Thursday, May 19, 2016

9:00-11:15 a.m. Moderator: John Haldon (Princeton)

Location: Dickinson 210, 211

Work in Progress: Ian Wood

Mon, May 9, 2016, 5:00 pm
Location: Dickinson Hall, Room 211

Peter R. Brown Reception and Festschrift

Sun, May 8, 2016, 4:00 pm
Location: Chancellor Green Rotunda

Lecture: Ian Wood, "Columbanus and the Sixth-Century"

Thu, May 5, 2016, 4:30 pm
Location: East Pyne 010

Conference: "Framing Late Antique and Medieval Economy (F.L.A.M.E.)"

Fri, Apr 29, 2016, 1:30 pm to Sun, May 1, 2016, 1:00 pm

Further information is available.

Location: Friday and Saturday in East Pyne 010, Sunday in Dickinson 211

Work In Progress Talk: Matthias Tischler, "Transcultural Perspectives on the Bible from Late Antiquity to the Middle Ages"

Mon, Apr 25, 2016, 6:00 pm
Location: Scheide Caldwell House, Room 103

Lecture: Jonathan Conant, "The Discomforts of Justice in Late Antiquity: Illicit Enslavement and Social Obligation at the End of Empire"

Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 4:30 pm
Location: East Pyne 010

Work In Progress Talk: "Beyond Benedict: The Rule Between the Lines in Early Medieval Monasticism," Albrecht Diem and Matthieu van der Meer

Tue, Apr 19, 2016, 6:00 pm

Beyond Benedict


Conference: "Bishops and Generals: Transformation of Power in Late Antiquity"

Fri, Apr 8, 2016, 4:30 pm to Sat, Apr 9, 2016, 5:00 pm
Location: Dickinson 211

NES Graduate Seminar: Stefan Heidemann, "Balancing The Power Of The Historical Argument: Textual And Archaeological Evidence and Their Uses"

Thu, Mar 24, 2016, 1:30 pm

NES Graduate Seminar: Stefan Heidemann, "A Most Versatile Source For Early Islamic History: Coins - Glimpses Of The Workings Of The Empire"

Wed, Mar 23, 2016, 1:30 pm

NES Lecture: Stefan Heidemann, "The View From The Regions: The Political Geography Of The Last And Largest Empire Of Antiquity"

Tue, Mar 22, 2016, 4:30 pm
Location: 202 Jones Hall

Conference: "Beyond Authority: Composition and Transmission in Late Antiquity"

Sun, Mar 20, 2016, 1:30 pm to Tue, Mar 22, 2016, 3:00 pm

Those planning to attend should register at

Location: Green Hall, Room 1-S-5

Lunchtime Seminar: Richard Payne, "The Silk Road and the Iranian Political Economy in Late Antiquity"

Wed, Mar 9, 2016, 12:00 pm

The horizons of the Silk Road and the Iranian Empire were largely coterminous.  The former spanned Eurasia circa 50 CE-750 CE, while the latter dominated the Near East 226-636 CE.  Trans-Eurasian trade nevertheless appears only marginally and offhandedly in current accounts of Iranian history in late antiquity.  The paper will argue that the two phenomena were closely linked, even interdependen

Location: Green Hall, Room 1-N-5

Lecture: David Brakke, “Shenoute the Great (347-465) and the Invention of Christian Literature: Making an Author"

Mon, Mar 7, 2016, 4:30 pm
Location: McCormick 106

Lecture: Bernadette Brooten, "Bishops versus Radical Ascetics: The Synod of Gangra (343 CE)"

Wed, Feb 17, 2016, 4:30 pm
Location: East Pyne 010

By Year